Friends as Ministering Angels

Another excerpt from Come Away My Beloved by Frances J. Roberts.

“Surely He has given you ministering angels, who may sometimes come to you in the form of your friends.”

Proverbs 17:17

A friend loves at all times…

I don’t know about you, but my friends mean the world to me! I can’t imagine my life without them. They encourage me, make me laugh, speak the truth to me and hold me accountable.  Friends are the family we choose to have in our lives and to share our lives with. I can think of many times when my friends were the ministering angels I needed. I love the thought that God puts our friends in our lives at just the right time to share just the right message.

A couple weeks ago I was talking to my friend, Fredrica, about wanting to get a job, but nothing was working out and I knew God was speaking to me in that.  She reminded me that I needed to listen to the answer “no” God was giving me and realize that it was because He had said “yes” to something else – namely this website and blog and I needed to focus on it.  She spoke the truth to me and encouraged me.  Having friends speak the truth to  you even if it isn’t what you want to hear and giving you a godly perspective is the best kind of friend to have.  I am so thankful for all of my friends – especially Lynn, who created this website for me!! Take some time today to thank God for your friends.  Share a comment about a time when your friends were ministering angels to you!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Friends as Ministering Angels

  1. Shannon

    My friend sat with me as my child was half-way around the globe dealing with the VA Tech shootings. No words were necessary. God worked through her to keep me from falling apart, and I don’t think of that time without being thankful.

    • I remember that day all too well. Thank goodness your daughter was ok. Friends can help us through the toughest times and even help each other adjust to living in a foreign country:))

  2. Wilma McCoul

    I have also had very dear friends who have ministered to me when they don’t even realize it. Yesterday, speaking with my friend, Nelda, I heard the Holy Spirit assuring me that He’s teaching me to pray according to God’s will. I’ve heard this and have shared it with others when just sharing, but when I was listening to her story, it just hit me. HE DOES TEACH US HOW TO PRAY according to God’s will. I started crying realizing it fully. I thank God for fulfilling His promise!

    • Wilma, you and I are blessed to have the same wonderful friend and sister in Christ, Nelda. She was a huge encourager for me and a link in the chain God put together for me to write the Deeply Rooted devotional.

  3. Sandy Tomme

    Amen! When my husband was dying of cancer, my “angels” were all around me and there before I needed to ask! Most recently I went through another trial period, and without my friends keeping me focused I could have become extremely bitter and turned away from the blessings God had in store. Thank you Father God, for the oh so many blessings you have graced me with, most especially my dear sweet friends, er, angels.!

    • Sandy, our friends bless us by supporting us in our darkest hours and celebrating with us in our moments of triumph and joy – what a blessing!

  4. Ezy Dampman

    During the most difficult times of my life, my friends were there to support and love me and my family. God brought every single one of them to me and blesses me each and every day!

  5. Ezy, God loves us so much and is so good to us that He puts friends in our lives to love and support us just when we need them the most.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

