Transforming Ourselves

I hope my posts this week on transforming our relationships with the sandpaper people in our lives have challenged you to look at role self in the relationship. It is easy for us to see the faults and flaws of others and know exactly what the need to change but much harder to look at our own faults and flaws elapsed what we need to change.

The sandpaper people in your life neverreally go away. One may leave but is quickly replaced by another. They are in for lives not because we need to change them but because God uses them to change us. It is unlikely the sandpaper person in your life is going to change on their own, so if you don’t change, the relationship won’t change.

When we change our perspective and begin to see the sandpaper people from God’s perspective and not our own, we are seeing them through the eyes of the Holy Spirit that dwells within us. We know we can’t forgive them on our own, but we  the power of His Holy Spirit. Loving them with the love of Christ and accepting them for who they are and how they are the way Christ accepted us is only possible with His Spirit working within us. When we change the way we respond from our natural flesh instincts and instead bear the fruit of the Spirit, we are tapping into His power.

Did you notice a recurring theme? Every change we make to improve our relationships with the sandpaper people requires a holy transformation within us whereby we choose to let the Holy Spirit direct and empower us. We are transformed when we plug into the power and choose to listen to the leading of His Spirit because it makes us more like Him!

Romans 12:2

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

Romans 12:18

If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Transforming Ourselves

  1. Another wonderful post! God bless you!!

  2. Sharon

    So true!

    • Thanks, Sharon! We both have sandpaper people in our lives and thankfully we have realized we need to be the ones to change. Miss you and Brooklyn!

  3. Amen! It is the Holy Spirit Who is in charge of our continuous transformation!

  4. So, I was thinking a lot about sandpaper people on monday. I go swing dancing once a week (its a great group of people we do west and east coast swing, waltz, cha-cha, the dance changes every month). Well, this month we were doing waltz (my favorite!) and there were a lot of new people. If youve ever done waltz, you know that things get sticky if you dont know what your doing, namely, people will step on your toes! God was teaching me patience, reminding me of where I first started when dancing, reminding me im not perfect (seriously, im a dancing mishap but I just laugh it off), and when it came down to it, the reason why I was getting frustrated was because them not knowing what they were doing reminded me that I am like that. I dont know all the dancing moves, I loose the count, etc. What was really bugging me about them, bugged me about myself. God granted me grace to help me work through this and helped me grow in patience. I dont think I would have recognized this as fast if I hadnt read your post. Thank you.

    • You certainly had the perfect experience to relate tho sandpaper people and the dance you find yourself in with them. I tend to dislike qualities in others that I dislike in myself as well. Hope you have a blessed weekend!

  5. Just read some of your posts in this series, Shelly – it’s great! Love the way you describe the “sandpaper” people in our lives. I’m always thankful for those people because of how God uses them to refine me!

    • Thanks, Barb! I am thankful for the sandpaper people in my life as well, because I know it is how God is polishing the rough spots out of me.

  6. Thank you we must always fully depend on the will of God as the Holy Spirit works on us for what Our Father wants.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

