Power of Prayer

I have several friends who are really going through challenging times right now with serious illnesses of family members. As I was praying this morning, I found myself saying “the only thing I can do is lift them to You, Lord and pray”. As I wrote those words in my prayer journal, I was struck by how feeble they sounded, as if my prayers weren’t enough. 

It is hard for us when our friends and family are suffering, especially when we can’t “do” anything or at least do anything tangible. I am a believer in the power of prayer, but found myself feeling like it just wasn’t enough, that I needed to be “doing” something more.

Then, some familiar words from Scripture came to mind, “O, you of little faith”.

Matthew 6:28-34

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

When I find myself worrying that I am not “doing” enough, what I am really doing is doubting that God is in control and that He is the One who can “do” what needs to be done. Feeling like praying just isn’t enough is having little faith in the One I am praying to.

The other Scripture that came to mind is from Psalm 29.

Psalm 29:11

The Lord gives strength to his people;
    the Lord blesses his people with peace.

God will give those I am praying for the strength they need to get through their difficulties. He will bless them with peace. I need to seek Him on their behalf and be confident that He loves them even more than I do and He will minister to them in ways I cannot.

It reminded and reinforced for me how powerful our prayers are. God hears them and He answers them. He doesn’t always answer them they way that we want Him to, but He does answer them and if I have faith in Him, then I need to know that His answers are the best.

I encourage all of you to spend some time in prayer today. Lift up the needs of your family and friends to the Lord and KNOW that He hears and He will answer. Prayer is “doing” something and it is enough.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Power of Prayer

  1. Hi Shelly, very well written, in fact I have felt that myself and think that my prayers aren’t as special as others who pray. In God’s eyes we are all equald all go to him with our heads bowed and are humble. I enjoy reading your posts, you are uplifting. Please feel free to read my blog too.
    Today I went to the cemetery where my mom was recently buried. It might sound crazy, but every time I go, I hear the Lord saying to me Why are you looking for the living among the dead? I only hear it when I go to see her or my gram. Today, I told him she isn’t alive here on earth only in heaven. It is kind of strange. Merry Christmas and God bless.
    Joy Hillmemories mom923
    Blog

    • It is funny how we know our prayers are powerful and are heard, but sometimes, a little doubt creeps in and has us wondering if they are enough. Thankfully He is faithful to us even we when are not and His mercy and grace abounds. I feel the same way when I visit my mom at the cemetery. I know that she is not there, she is very much alive with the Lord. Blessings and Merry Christmas!

      • Thanks Shelly for visiting my blog, Please keep checking in because there is more to come.. I am trying to write down everything I remember about my grandfather, and of course mom and my grandma.. I want to write it down so I don’t forget anything. I love doing this blog because its mine and I write what I want to.when I want to.. I pray your Christmas was wonderful and Happy New Year, its nice to know that someone else understands where I am coming from. God bless you.

      • It is very hard to lose a loved one but thankfully we are comforted by the Lord in our loss. May God continue to give you peace and comfort. Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

    • mom923, God bless you for your post. I grieved for my mother since she left us in 1997. It was when I was convicted for seeking love from her (after she died) and ignored the One who’s alive. Who loved me before she was; Who loves me more when she was here. It was then healing took place. I was blessed with a wonderful mother. No matter how much she loved us, there is no love compared to the Love of my Heavenly Father and His awesome Son, Jesus Christ. I pray for this new year, we all accept and give His Love. Not this worldly love that has conditions, but His unconditional Love. It’s His Love that draws us. It’s His Love that saved us from destruction. It’s His Love that brought life to me. If I depended on my mothers love to keep me alive, it would have died the day she died. Do I miss her, YES :). But I need Him more than anything or anyone. My mother knew it, so I’ll just follow in her footsteps. Also, on the power of prayer; It was the power of my mother’s prayers that saved me so, so, so many times. The Holy Spirit reminds me of that to help me to pray and believe for my children and grand-children.There is no expiration date on prayer. Be blessed in Him.
      Veronica

      • Having lost my mother as well, I can say that turning to the Lord is the only way to truly experience peace in times of loss. His love for us and our loved ones is unfailing. How wonderful you were able to turn to Him.

  2. Amen-So Be It!!! When I finish praying as The Holy Spirit leads, I hear the power that is in the fullness of praying from the beginning of praying even to the end with AMEN. Many times when I know that the prayers are just the beginning I hear these words which comfort me so “FATHER KNOWS BEST” THY WILL BE DONE!!! Bless you and your ministries!!!

    • Thanks for your inspirational comments! He certainly does know best and we want His will to be done, not ours. Merry Christmas!

  3. The Holy Spirit does help us with our prayers. The Scriptures you posted are very meaningful and teach us to rely on HIm. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    • I am so glad the Scriptures spoke to you. We are so blessed to have His Spirit dwelling within us to help us pray.

  4. Hi Shelly,
    On December 19th I posted a testimony concerning the Power of Prayer. I also want to share this video the Lord Jesus had me do. Be blessed in Jesus, always.

    My Testimony:
    “Good morning, Just want to share a testimony with those of you that may be experiencing an attack by the enemy. Yesterday was a hard day in the spirit. The enemy attacked me in the area of praying. By the time I went to bed, I was delivered. The Lord ministered to me through this video on prayer. I didn’t just look at the video, but I read the scriptures. When I went to pray before bed I was in faith and believed in the things I prayed for will be answered. No matter what we are faced with today, Jesus will bring us through it. The key is, we have to allow Him and do the things He instructs us or lead us to do. I found if I just say yes, He gives me the strength to do it. I don’t have faith in my ability to do even a simple task. It was hard for me to believe, but I asked Him for the strength to just do what He said. He told me to praise Him so me and my grand-daughter danced to Him (you’ll see her at the end of the video). He told me to read the scriptures in this video, which I did. The Word of God is so powerful. It gave me the victory in the end from our enemy satan. No matter what you are faced with today, stay with our Savior, Jesus and in the end you will have the victory. Praying for all who read this. Please pray for me and my family also. The title of the song is “Power of Pray” by Ben Ketting from the Children of Light.”

    Psalm 98:1; A Psalm. Oh, sing to the LORD a new song! For He has done marvelous things; His right hand and His holy arm have gained Him the victory.

    1 John 5:4; For whatever is born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith.

    1 Corinthians 15:50-58; Now this I say, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God; nor does corruption inherit incorruption. Behold, I tell you a mystery: We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed— in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed. For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal must put on immortality. So when this corruptible has put on incorruption, and this mortal has put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written: “Death is swallowed up in victory.” “O Death, where is your sting? O Hades, where is your victory?” The sting of death is sin, and the strength of sin is the law. But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.

    • Thanks for sharing your testimony and the video. Prayer is so powerful, but we forget its power and sometimes forget to pray. The Scriptures in the video are wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

