New Beginnings

ID-10075101

  • image by FrameAngel, freedigitalphotos.net

Don’t you just love new beginnings? They offer such wonderful possibilities. Can you remember the mix of nervousness and excitement you felt on a first day of school, the first day of a new job or going on a first date? You knew you were entering a new situation with endless possibilities and a renewed hope of what was to come. Let’s enter 2013 with that same hope.

Hebrews 10:23

Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.

Regardless of what your 2012 was like, 2013 lies ahead with hope for a brand new year and new things God wants to do in your life. If you are like me, your 2012 was filled with ups and downs. It is so easy to remember the bad times rather than the good, but if you read my last post, and you took stock of all God had done in 2012, you are looking forward to 2013 with eager anticipation.

I don’t know what God has in store for me in 2013 but I know He has a plan and I know His plans far exceed any of my own. I know that in hard times I rely on Him more and turn to Him more. Regardless of what is ahead in 2013, I know that I don’t have a to face it alone because the Lord is always right there with me.

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Many people make new year’s resolutions about what they want to accomplish or change in the coming year. I have made these many times myself, but have failed to follow through with them very long. This year I prayed about what God would have me accomplish or change in 2013. The answer I got was to know Him more. I feel like He wants me to know Him more so I can share Him more effectively with others. The best way I know to get to know someone better is to spend time with him. This is not different with the Lord. Spending time with the Lord in prayer and in His Word is the best way to get to know Him better.

Jeremiah 29:12-14a

 “Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,”

I am going to read through the Bible in a year. I have chosen a chronological Bible that has the readings divided out by days and I am going to spend more time in prayer. I am confident that I will be able to follow through on this goal because I will not be doing it on my own. I will have the power of the Holy Spirit encouraging me and drawing me closer to God.

James 4:8a

 Come near to God and he will come near to you.

I pray everyone who reads this post will spend some time in prayer seeking what God would have you accomplish or change in 2013. If you don’t feel like you have a clear answer, why not join me in reading the word daily and spending time with Him in prayer. We can encourage each other to stay the course and share what we are learning. I am looking forward to 2013 with eager anticipation of what God has in store for me and I hope you are too!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Have a wonderful new year!

  2. Beautifully written, guess I haven’t thought much about the new year coming, just trying not to let my sorrow take over. I do have somethngs good coming up. My sister is having a baby in August(a big surprise) and with Gods will planning a trip to disney world in december for my birthday. My little boy wants to go so bad and I want to see it all decorated for christmas and celebrate my b-day too. Praying
    first that the baby is healthy and safe. Happy New Year.

    • Mom93, May you put your hope in the Lord and keep your eyes open for what He is doing around you. A new baby and a trip sounds like a lot to look forward to. Blessings!

      • Hi Shelly, it certainly is something to look forward to. My 8 year old son said to us, well we have 2 chairs empty but God is going to fill another chair for us very soon. He is the sweetest most wonderful little boy. He loves his Lord and has told me countless times of him seeing angels.. I believe him, he is very to the point. In fact at one time I wasn’t sure to believe him or not, he got mad at me and drew a picture of what he saw.. He blew me away.. He is my strength from day to day.. Love your posts, keep up the good work..

      • Mom923, 2013 has a lot of potential and hope in it. I don’t know what God has in store for me, but I am looking forward to finding out and keeping my eyes open. What a blessing that He is your strength each day. Blessings!

  3. Great inspiration to place God first in my life! Spending time with Him will only make me more open to His love!

    • Aslamkowski, spending time with God is the key and I know you will be blessed by the time you spend with Him. Happy New Year!

  4. I love to read christian fiction. However, i have prayed about it and I believe that God wants me to start reading non fiction. I have read some (kisses from kaitie to be my favorite). Would you have some life changing or highly reccomended reads? Im just looking for great reads to help strenghten my faith. And yes, the bible is on the top of my list 🙂

    • Krazysurfingkat, I have some books that I have really enjoyed. “Hearing God’s Voice” by Henry Blackaby, “Radical” by David Platt and I love doing a daily devotional. Some of my favorites are “Experiencing God Day by Day” by Henry Blackaby and “Come Away My Beloved” by Frances J. Roberts and, of course the one I wrote, “Deeply Rooted”. Hope these help. If you haven’t read through the entire Bible, I would highly recommend doing that first. Good luck!

  5. johnjebaseelan

    Have a wonderful Year. As you are deeply rooted in HIM who is the source of all the blessings and comfort, HE will guide you – holding your arms in HIS – through this year

    • JohnJebasseelan, Thanks! I am looking forward to this year with the Lord and know He will lead and guide me. Blessings to you in 2013!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

