Listening to God

There are so many things that clamor for our attention. We live in a world of constant stimulation with all of our electronic devices; our phones beep and vibrate with emails, text messages, Facebook comments and phone calls. It seems like someone is always trying to talk to us in one form or fashion. 

“Miss anything else, but do not miss My voice. Other voices may introduce disharmony, but My voice will always bring peace to your heart and clarity to your thinking. For when you turn to the left or to the right, you will hear My voice behind you saying: This is the way, walk in it.” (An excerpt from Come Away My Beloved by Frances J. Roberts)

Do you recognize the voice of the Father over all the other voices you hear around you? Do you take time to listen to what He has to say about your life? It is easy to get busy doing things and not take out time to hear from the One who has the master plan for our life, but when we do, we find ourselves feeling overwhelmed, stressed out, frustrated and exhausted.

We need to be able to recognize the voice of God. But what does it sound like? Elijah learned what His voice sounded like.

1 Kings 19:11-13

The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”

Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake.  After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.

Then a voice said to him, “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

The Lord did not speak to Elijah in the wind, earthquake or fire, He spoke in a gentle whisper. It would be nice if He would speak to us in a grand way that would get our attention and we would know without a shadow of a doubt that we have heard from Him, but that is not His way. He wants us to take time away from our busy lives to sit quietly before Him. He wants us  to be intentional about listening to Him. Anything worth having takes time and effort.

How much time and effort do you put into hearing from God? Most of us put a lot of time into talking to God, but do we talk the time to listen? Relationships are built on communication and communication is a two way street where you do some of the talking and some of the listening. Is your communication with God a two way street or do you do all the talking? 

Proverbs 8:33

Listen to my instruction and be wise; do not ignore it.

Spend some time today just sitting quietly before the Lord and listen for his gentle whisper. Take some time out of your day to hear what He has to say to you. He will lead and guide you and give you peace.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Listening to God

  1. I believe the reason that God doesn’t speak to us in the big loud flashy voice, is so that we don’t mistake his voice for the voices clamoring around us. If we listen for the still small voice, then we know we have stopped to listen for God and we can be sure that what we have heard is God’s will for us. That said, I’d like the big loud voice sometimes myself. Thanks for this post.

    • Ena, I completely agree! He wants us to to listen for His still small voice but it sure would be easier if it were a big loud one:)

  2. Thanks for this reminder. God spoke this to me last year. Prayer can be just sitting and listening to God. I try to spend half of my prayer time each day listening. Blocking out the distractions is the hard part, but can be done.

    • Chris, what a wonderful thing to be able to spend time just listening to God. It is very hard to block out the distractions, but so worth it. Hope you continue and are blessed by what God has to say to you.

  3. I also want to thank you for writing this post and reminding me of this today. I am definitely going to take some time with God today to hear from Him. This is something I struggle with but I’m feeling differently now after reading your beautifully written post. Like you said, anything worth having takes the effort. Thank you again.

    • FaithNHopeAlways, thank you so much for your encouraging words. I am so thrilled God is using this blog to reach others for Him.

    • FatihNHopeAlways, thanks for reblogging my post “Listening to God”. I hope your readers are blessed by it.

  4. My favorite subject! I recently saw a T-shirt in a magazine that said “PRAYER – The World’s greatest wireless connection!”

  5. God is always speaking and many of us hear him but very few listen.
    I enjoyed reading your post for it contain truth and heard and listen to the voice of God in it. I thank you-I also thank you for stopping by my blog-May the Lord bless and keep you.

    • SirCharlesDavis, I completely agree. We may hear, but listening and following through with obedience is so much harder. Blessings!

  6. A great reminder Shelly! I posted something along the same lines earlier this year: http://justingottuso.com/2012/10/24/i-need-awakening/. Blessings on reading through the Bible in a year! I’ve done that before and it really opened my eyes to the character of God in a whole new way!

    • JustinGottuso, I love it when God is sharing the same message with more than one person. It is one of the reasons why it is so important to be in Christian fellowship because we have so much to learn from what God is doing in the lives of others. I am looking forward to knowing Him more as I reread His Word this year. Blessings to you in 2013!

  7. Shelly, I too appreciate so much when God confirms His truth through Believers – I wrote “The Different Voice- Hear It?” – about the Quiet voice of The Lord a few days ago. Getting this straight in my life has made all the difference in my Walk with Him. He works among us! 🙂
    https://40yearwanderer.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/the-different-voice-hear-it/

  8. Nicely said. So many times we fail to hear what God has intended for us because we are to busy listening to our flesh. We should stop and listen and watch the wonders of God unfold before us. He is wanting all of us to listen and I believe when we do listen that is when blessings begin to flow. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

    In Christ
    Pastor Mike Sellers
    http://www.pastormikesellers.wordpress.com

    • Pastor Mike, thanks for the kind words. We definitely need to take time to slow down in our busy and chaotic world and just reconnect with the Lord so we can hear from Him and be refreshed and renewed. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

