Imitating the Actions of Christ

My last post was about imitating Christ’s humble attitude. If we are imitating His attitude it will lead us to imitate His actions. Christ didn’t come to be served, but to serve. He is the King of kings and Lord of lords and yet, became a man and came to serve us. It was His humble heart that enabled Him to put the need of others above His own and empowered Him to serve them.

Matthew 20:28

“just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

When we serve others, we sacrifice our time, energy and efforts for what we want to do for ourselves and put the needs of others above our own. It helps us put our humility into action and helps us take our focus off of ourselves and puts our focus on others. As believers, we are called to put our faith into action so others can see Christ at work in and through us. When was the last time you served someone else?

Serving is more than merely donating money or items to a cause. It requires us to actually be His hands and feet in the world. Serving the Lord requires us to tap into the strength of the Holy Spirit and may require us to step out of our comfort zones. When I first became a Christian 13 years ago, my biggest fear was that God would send me to serve Him in Africa. I didn’t want to go anywhere or do anything that would make me uncomfortable. By His grace and love, my attitude towards serving Him has changed drastically and I am ready to serve Him wherever and whenever He leads me. As it turns out, I will be traveling to Africa in March to serve Him. He has sent me to places I never thought I would go to do things I never thought I could do and I have been abundantly blessed by serving Him and meeting His children all over the world.

You won’t know where God wants you to serve if you don’t ask Him. Seek God today and find out where He wants you to serve Him. It may be in your own church, neighborhood or community or it may be in far away places. When God calls, He also equips.

Hebrews 13:20-21

 May the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep,  equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

Wherever God calls you to serve, He will be with you. He will empower you through the power of His Holy Spirit to do His will. Imagine the difference we could make in the world if each of us would have the courage to serve Him. Be bold, ask the Lord today where He would have you serve and be obedient to His will. Being an imitator of Christ’s humble attitude and His servant’s heart.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Imitating the Actions of Christ

  1. Thank God that He chooses us to be His hands and feet. I love that when I choose to serve others, He is more concerned with their spiritual life than my comfort. Stepping out in faith by serving others isn’t easy, but like you said, He always equips us. Thanks for the encouragement today.

    • Chris, I love that God uses us to serve others. We are blessed by seeing others grow in their faith and experiencing God working in and through us at the same time. Thanks!

  2. The more we serve, the more we understand what true service means, and that it comes from the heart. It’s a desire, not a requirement. Thank you for this blog, I love it!

    • Julie, well stated – service is a desire not a requirement. When we love the Lord with all our heart, we can’t help but want to serve Him.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

