Brothers and Sisters in Christ

 

We all have friends we can talk to and depend on when we are in need. However, brothers or sisters in Christ are more than just friends. They are the people in our lives who love and support us, but also hold us accountable. They will pray for us and help us seek the Lord. Brothers and sisters in Christ will tell us what we need to hear, not necessarily what we want to hear.

Ephesians 4:15

 Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ.

They bring a different perspective to our situation. This week I have been struggling in a situation and one of them pointed out that I needed to forgive someone. Honestly, it didn’t occur to me that I wasn’t forgiving the person, I was just trying to distance myself from the situation. This was followed up by two other conversations encouraging me to put my faith into action regarding this situation. My sisters in Christ have been speaking loud and clear to me this week. Although it is not easy to hear when our heart, attitude, words and actions are not pleasing to God, we have to acknowledge them before we are able to seek forgiveness and change them.

Having brothers and sisters in Christ comes from being in community with other believers. If you are not in a community of believers, I encourage you to find one where you can grow in your knowledge and love of Christ, worship and serve Him.  We were created to be in a relationship with Christ and with others. We are all part of the body of Christ and have a role to play.

I have some truly wonderful sisters in Christ who minister to me, point me back to Christ and are willing to tell me when I am off track. I am so grateful for these ladies who have been a tremendous blessing to me and helped me grow in my faith. Take the time to let those who have ministered to you know what a difference they have made in your life. Be a brother or sister in Christ to those in your life and be willing to speak the truth in love.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Brothers and Sisters in Christ

  1. unforgiveness hurts us, not the person we are angry with. It is wise advice and it will free you for the work God has called you to. Have learned this lesson the hard way a few times myself. Peace be with you.

    • Ena, thanks for the encouragement. Forgiveness is all about us, not the one who hurt or offended us. It is something we all struggle with, but have to do. Thanks. Blessings!

  2. Tenth Avenue North has a song that states he is the one losing by not forgiving. True Christian friends can by Christ’s mirror into our souls- if we let them reach in past our Sunday morning smiles. Thanks for the post!

    • Julie, thanks for the encouraging words. I am glad my sister in Christ pointed out it was a forgiveness issue because it put me on the road to forgiveness and healing. Blessings!

  3. The wonderful thing about having a strong faith community is that they can be counted on to (hopefully) gently point out when we go astray, along with when we are following God’s call.

    • Vftmom246, exactly! It is such a blessing to be part of a faith community. They hold us accountable but also are a great source of love, support and encouragement. Blessings.

  4. Thanks for the great post Shelly! Two other things I’ve experienced with accountability
    – It works best when it’s mutual (not one person “preaching” to another, but two people watching out for each other)
    – It works best when there’s an open invitation to speak into someone’s life. I think that takes a transparency and willingness to look to God’s Truth with eyes wide open. I suspect that looks a little different for men vs. women, and different cultures.
    (Might be a great future blog post… would love to see one!)
    Keep up the great work!

    • Bill, accountability certainly works better when it is a two way street. Thanks for the encouragement. Good idea for a future post.

  5. Our lives have taken us so many places the last 5 years that I am hoping for these trusted people in our lives now that we are settling in here. We followed God for every move and he blessed us with friends, but to this level of confidant I am hopeful. I have lived a lonely life when it comes to friendship… But never truly alone as He was always there.

  6. We just aren’t supposed to ‘go it alone’ in our walk with Christ. I struggle with this because I have always been very independent- more task oriented than a ‘people person. He has His way of reminding me, though, through blogs like this! Thanks!

    • Heavenlyraindrops, I, too, am very independent and it is difficult to reach out for help from others. Thankfully, the Lord is showing me through my sisters in Christ, how much we need each other. Blessings.

  7. Excellent post and excellent comments. There’s that saying, “Unforgiveness is like drinking poision and expecting the other person to die.” Forgiveness sets us free. You are so blessed to have such wonderful sisters to minister to you. Thank you for a wonderful blog.

    • Julie, thanks for the wonderful saying! I am truly blessed by sisters who are willing to tell me what I need to hear. They hold me accountable and love me through it. So glad God is using this blog to reach others. Blessings.

  8. I am soooo grateful for my brothers and sisters in Christ! I would seriously be lost without their wisdom, love and encouragement. After moving to the east coast from the west coast, I knew the first thing I needed to do was find more sisters in Him ASAP! They have made this transition much easier!

    • Flygirlmarla, I couldn’t agree more. Where ever we find ourselves, we need to find other believers to connect with so we can be sources of encouragement and accountability for one another. What a blessing you have found that in your new home. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

