Why Blog?

I had a couple of friends who really encouraged me to start a blog. Honestly, I didn’t know if I would like doing it, but it has been such a blessing to me. It is a wonderful way to be able to share my faith with people all over the world, that otherwise I would never be able to connect with. I have been blown away by where some of the people who read the blog are reading from. It is one way to make our big world smaller.

Technology, especially the internet can be so misused, but writing a Christian blog is one way to use technology in a positive way to spread the word of God and the gospel to people all over the world. 

Matthew 38:19-20

 “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,  and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Writing the blog has helped give me a platform to teach others about God’s Word, how to apply it to their lives and most importantly how to have an intimate relationship with the Lord. As I have read other blogs, I have also been able to learn from others different ways to look at Scriptures and have been challenged to live out those Scriptures in my life.

I have been incredibly humbled and blessed by the comments people have left. It is clear the Lord is using blogs to reach others for Himself and is using them to speak to His people. It has helped create a community of believers who have another way to encourage one another. Walking the Christian walk is difficult and is not something we were meant to do alone. Blogs are another way to walk alongside each other with words of inspiration and encouragement. 

1 Thessalonians 5:11

 Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.

Through reading other blogs and comments on this blog, I have been called to prayer for others and their situations. I pray God continues to use this blog to reach people all over the world. Thank you for reading and commenting on the blog; it has encouraged, humbled, inspired and challenged me. To God be the glory!

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Why Blog?

  1. I agree. We must seize every opportunity to share the Good News of Jesus Christ.

    • Sue, absolutely! We are so blessed to have a way to reach others all over the world for Christ. May He use us to reach others and bring glory to His name.

  2. Hi Shelly! I am so Blessed to have found your Blog! You inspire, Challenge & encourage me with all of your posts. God has Blessed you with such a gifting and i hope you continue to Blog for years and years to come! I Live near London in the United Kingdom and i find it Amazing how we can have Fellowship and uplift other believers around the world! Thanks again, Shalom in Christ! 😀

    • Steverebus, thanks so much for your encouraging words! I love being able to fellowship with people through this blog. I have flown through London, but never had the privilege of touring around, maybe one day. I will continue to blog as long as God wants me to.

  3. I appreciate how you try to connect with every reader – as I have done – since it is within every situation we can BE the Love of Christ. In the blogging world it is equivalent to “smile at everyone you see because you just never know what kind of day they are having and need that smile”. May God continue to grow and bless you and your readers.

    • Heather, it is really cool to be able to connect with readers and encourage them. I love the idea of a blog post being a smile in cyberspace. I’ve enjoyed your blog as well, keep up the wonderful posts!

  4. Oh… I would love to get your input for a book I am writing. I have a panel of 50 people from different belief systems all over the country contributing to a book about how God and Faith factor into their lives. You might have read about it at the link on my blog http://www.40YearWanderer.wordpress.com – and I will be putting quick anonymous Q&A on the book’s FB page for everyone who follows it.
    https://www.facebook.com/LiveLearnLove.QandA.FortheSoul
    Let me know what you think about joining the panel. I’d be honored if you’d join us in any way. My prayer is it reaches around the world to connect people in True Love. Christ Love. – Heather

  5. I love how you have put it all into perspective here. Yes, our world is smaller thanks to the internet. Fortunately, during this electronic age, we can (and must) share the love of God with everyone, even those we meet in cyberspace. I also appreciate finding those, like you, who have lifted me up and helped me grow, through the words of your blogs. Blessings to you!

    • Julie, I love the idea of the world wide web being used to spread the gospel and encourage believers all over the world. I have enjoyed your blog and been encouraged and challenged to look at a particular passage in a different way. Keep blogging!

  6. Shelly, you’re absolutely right! I am housebound most of the time with several chronic illnesses, and I know that God is using me right where I am — with my blog — to reach people. I love what you said: “Technology, especially the internet can be so misused, but writing a Christian blog is one way to use technology in a positive way to spread the word of God and the gospel to people all over the world.” Amen, Sister!

    Blessings!
    ~Anna

  7. I so agree. It felt so awkward for me to share what I write, not knowing whether others would read. I have been touched by how God uses something on my heart to touch even one person. Keep writing. I enjoy your blog.

    • Heavenlyraindrops, I am glad you are blogging as well. It is truly amazing to see how God can use blogs to encourage and inspire others. Blessings!

  8. Pingback: I Feel So Very Honored « 40YearWanderer

  9. I just want to say I am just newbie to blogging and really liked you’re website. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You certainly come with beneficial writings. Cheers for revealing your web-site.

    • Lenard, thanks for your encouraging words! Welcome to the wonderful world of blogging! Blessings.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

