The Right Feet for the Path You are on

My small group has been doing a study by Ray Vander Laan called “Walking with God in the Desert”. One of the things Ray talked about was changing the way we pray. So often we ask God to make things go smoothly or to have things go well. However, for most of us, it isn’t in the easy, smooth sailing times in our lives when we grow closer to the Lord.

It is usually in the tough and difficult times our relationship with the Lord grows closer. It is during these times that we turn to Him the most. When we struggle and know we can’t handle it on our own we tend to put our trust in the Lord. Then we are able to see how He is working in our circumstances. So, Ray suggested instead of praying for God to smooth out our paths, we pray the Lord will give us the right feet for the path we are on.

Isn’t that a different way of looking at things? It acknowledges we will have difficult times and we seek the Lord to equip us during those times. Often our circumstances don’t change, but with the right feet for the path, we will be equipped by the Lord to handle the people and situations with love and grace. We will also experience His presence, comfort and peace. 

2 Samuel 22:34

He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;
    he enables me to stand on the heights.

The animals in the deserts have to be very agile to climb the rocky crags and rough hillsides. In this Scripture, David is asking the Lord to give Him feet like the deer so he can climb up them as well. He is asking the Lord to equip him to deal with his situations and we need to do the same.

Psalm 119:105

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.

One way we can be equipped is through the Word of God. His Word can be like a lamp for our feet lighting our dark and rough paths. When we face struggles, we need to seek God in His Word. It is a living Word, but only if we open it and read it. 

Try praying today God will give you the right feet for the path you are on rather than changing the path you are on. Seek Him in His Word to have your path light.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “The Right Feet for the Path You are on

  1. Pingback: The Right Feet for the Path You are on « ✞ ⓘChristian

  2. Love it! The “right feet” result in the best view… the one from the mountaintop! Once we see the view, the journey seems less difficult, and hardly worth remembering. Keep up the great work Shelly!

    • Bill, I love what you have added – the fact that the right feet “result in the best view” – so true. It certainly helps put the journey in perspective. Thanks and blessings to you today!

  3. The right feet for the path I am on. I love that thought, I have been trying to live and pray that way, but never had it articulated in such a beautiful image before. Thank you.

    • Ena, thanks! Wish I could take the credit, but Ray Vander Laan and the Lord get the credit. I love it when there is a picture that creates and image in your mind and transforms the way we think about something. Blessings!

  4. Love this! Thank you for sharing…I’ve been trying to remember every day that my life is hid with Him and He is my life…that I am just the empty vessel filled with the Holy Spirit for His use. So often we think only about ease and comfort for ourselves, but it is when we are out of our comfort zone that we lean hard on Jesus, just as you said that in our difficult times that our relationship with the Lord grows closer. Praise God for the difficult times and the difficult relationships, and Father, help us to remember to praise you for these things and give You the glory!

    • Shadowlilies, it is wonderful that you are so open to His leading and are willing to go where He takes you. May you grow closer to Him on your journey!

  5. great insight about praying for the right feet – though at times I’d prefer to only see His feet in the sand because that means He is carrying me! Thanks for sharing.

    • Julie, me too! It is an easier path if He is carrying us, but sometimes we have to walk the walk and having the right feet is sure helpful. Blessings!

  6. I love love love this! I have been learning that the challenging trials are character builders and I need some new feet for the trail! Thanks for the encouragement!

    • Flygirlmarla, thanks! I’ve been on that particular trail myself and having the right feet for it will help you see God along the way and keep you grounded.

  7. What a great perspective on praying for the right feet instead of focusing of wanting God to smooth the path. Want this one to stick in my brain! Thanks!

  8. I’ve learned to love the feet I have and the path on which they tread. I simply wouldn’t be the same person in someone else’s feet so why try to change them (circumstances). Great post!

    • Heather, I love the idea that you wouldn’t be the same person if you had someone else’s feet and neither would I. It is such a comfort to know God equips us to deal with our circumstances.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

