What is My Purpose?

I think we get hung up trying to “find” or “figure out” what our purpose is. We know God has a plan for each of our lives, but we seem to struggle with discovering what it is.

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

I know when I first became a Christian at the age of 29, I heard people talking about what God’s plan for them was and I felt pretty sure He didn’t have one for me because I had no idea what it was. As I got to know the Lord, I discovered for a period of time, His plan was simply for me to get to know Him.If we look at some of the basic things Jesus taught, we will discover His plan. 

Matthew 22:36-39

36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.”

In order to know what plan God has for you, you need to know and love Him. The second thing Jesus talks about is loving your neighbors which is loving others. If you aren’t sure what God’s plan for you is, it is pretty clear His plan for all of us is to love Him and love others. When you love Him and love others, you will discover what His specific plan for you  is right now.

Loving God is easier than loving others because God doesn’t hurt us. He may disappoint us by not answering our prayers the way we want or in the time we want, but it is only because He ultimately knows what is best for us. Loving others can be very challenging because they don’t always love us in return and don’t always treat us well.

Not long after becoming a Christian, I began working in the children’s ministry at our church. It was there I learned God’s Word. As I began to study His Word, I realized how important it is for others to know Him and it became my passion to teach small children about Jesus. In loving these small children, I found my purpose for that season of my life – to teach them to love Jesus the way I did.

Don’t spend too much time worrying about what God’s plan or purpose for you might be for this season in your life. If you focus on loving Him and spending time with Him and in prayer and His Word, He will teach, lead and guide you. If you really work on walking out His love for others by loving those around you, even those who are difficult to love at times, He will show you what He wants you to do. You will discover a passion for a particular group of people you may never have had before.

The important thing is to not spend time sitting around worrying about what God wants you to do and start doing what Jesus has already told you to to do – love God and love others. Love is an action verb and requires you to “do” something; it isn’t merely a feeling. I challenge you today to show God’s love to someone in your life and begin to fulfill His purpose for you today.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “What is My Purpose?

  1. Amen! The first and Monday important plan for our lives outside of finding salvation in Him is for us to get to know Him. When we know Him, we have purpose.

  2. I love this, you know I just wrote a post similar to this, in reading this it has allowed me to realize that not only does God has a plan for our life but knowing that we are already in that plan in purpose as we live and breathe right now. That is the amazing thing about living a life with Jesus Christ, under his love and grace. He says, “Know and love my father, then take that love that you have love my father with, that same love and love others.” Amen. -Writerscomposition

    • Writerscomposition, thanks! I love it when God puts the same topics on people’s hearts. Enjoyed your post as well. We are so blessed to be “under his love and grace”.

  3. That’s great and so true! He is our purpose, the very reason we’re alive! Great stuff. Thanks 🙂

  4. Beautiful and powerful post. More of this message should be preached from pulpits! Thanks.

    • Heavenlyraindrops, I couldn’t agree more. Finding our purpose can seem overwhelming but Jesus made it simple – love God and love others. Simple concept but challenging to put into practice. Blessings.

  5. Deanna

    What a wonderful way of looking at God’s plan and purpose in our lives. Thanks for this reminder.

    • Deanna, thanks for the kind words. Sometimes we try to complicate things Jesus made simple. In my own life, I have found in loving God and loving others, He reveals a more specific plan for me. Blessings friend!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

