Rushing to Action

At the transfiguration, Jesus appears in His glory along with Elijah and Moses. Peter, James and John are with Jesus and see all of this happening. Peter, in his impulsiveness immediately jumps into action and wants to build shelters for the three of them. 

Mark 9:5-6

Peter said to Jesus, “Rabbi, it is good for us to be here. Let us put up three shelters—one for you, one for Moses and one for Elijah.”  (He did not know what to say, they were so frightened.)

However, God had a different plan for the three disciples.

Mark 9:7

Then a cloud appeared and covered them, and a voice came from the cloud: “This is my Son, whom I love. Listen to him!”

Peter, James and John were frightened and confused by what they were witnessing. Peter’s response was to jump in and make a plan but the Lord only required them to do one thing – listen. Is that how you respond when you are frightened, confused or face a problem?  Do you immediately jump into action rather than turning to the Lord and listening to what He has to say?

Many of us are problem solvers, we are even raising a generation of children who are taught problem solving skills in school as early as kindergarten. However, when it comes to our lives, often, it is not the problem solving skills the Lord wants us to employ. Rather, He wants us to simply listen; listen to what He has to say about our situations before we jump into action.

I can relate to Peter’s impulsiveness. It is my natural instinct to jump in and start planning but when I do, I am operating out of my own wisdom and my own strength. When I take time to sit quietly before the Lord, I am infused with His wisdom, His strength and given insight into His plan. His plans are usually quite different from my own. 

What are you facing today? Are you preparing to jump into action and solve the problem yourself? The Lord is always active in our lives and His plans are greater than ours. Seek Him today and see how He wants you to act. Rely on His strength to get you through the situation and His wisdom to help you solve the problem. He is the ultimate problem solver!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Rushing to Action

  1. Amen!! I know I am guilty of springing into action at times without consulting the Lord first. It never works out when I take the approach of “I can handle this myself.” God’s wisdom is always far better than our own. Thanks for the reminder that we should always seek the Lord’s direction first…not as an afterthought!

    • Valerie, it was a reminder I needed myself today! We know we should seek Him first but we don’t always do it. Taking matters into my own hands never works out well, I need His wisdom. Blessings!

  2. Definitely words to live by! My favorite verse is “Be still and listen”

  3. Amen! Blessings Sister Shelly 🙂

  4. I am so much like Peter: Ready, Fire!, Aim. Thanks for a great thought and the inspiration. We seemed to be thinking along parallel lines. 😀

    • I am very much like Peter myself. May He help us to slow down and follow Him rather than blazing our own trail.

  5. Waiting is the hardest part. But I find it easier when remembering that my strength is found in His joy. His plan for my life is for good. Joy. It is mine to claim.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

