Once Again

We sang “Once Again” by Matt Redman at church on Sunday. It really spoke to me from the very first statement, “Jesus Christ, I think upon Your sacrifice”. With Holy Week and Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross for the forgiveness of your sins and my sins still fresh in my mind, it really got me thinking about how many times I have “once again moments”.

Once again, I was tempted and fell into sin and Your forgiveness was there. How often do we do commit the same sins over and over again? How many times do you seek the the Lord and repent only to do it again? How many times have you felt His leading in one direction only to take your own direction?

Once again we seek the Lord in prayer and He not only hears but He answers. His answers may not come in the form we want or the timing we want, but they do come. May we all have eyes and ears to see and hear His answers.

Once again we find ourselves in the midst of chaos and He provides His peace. Once again we are in need and He meets us where we are and ministers to us in ways only He can.

As a parent, I have experienced many “once again” moments with my daughters where I wonder if they ever listen to me or if anything I say ever gets through to them. I wonder if the Lord feels the same thing about me? Once again He speaks and I don’t hear Him. Once again He moves in my circumstances and I don’t recognize it’s Him. 

The chorus of the song “Once Again” 

And once again I look upon the cross where You died
I’m humbled by Your mercy and I’m broken inside
Once again I thank You
Once again I pour out my life

Let this be our prayer today. Let’s focus on His cross and His sacrifice on our behalf. Allow the Lord to humble us and remind us to thank Him for all He has done, is doing and will do in our lives. Let us be reminded of His unwavering faithfulness in the face of our faithlessness. Once again, offer yourself as a living sacrifice to the Lord today and walk out your faith.

Lamentations 3:22-23

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Once Again

  1. Thanks Shelly for sharing your great teaching. Once again is a fantatstic song that really does help us focus on Jesus and what he has done so that we can be free!

    • Steve, thanks for your words of encouragement. We are so tremendously blessed. Sometimes we just need the reminder to praise and thank the One who is so faithful to us.

  2. Reblogged this on iChristian.

  3. Thanks for stopping by and liking my post. 4 stars for you and this post today. This is for you and your entire community. Be blessed! http://youtu.be/RWa_YYOF3fs

  4. I never heard that song before and found it on youtube, wow that is a beautiful song and thank you for the encouraging words, I needed it alot today, you will never know. God bless.

  5. thanks for this grace-filled post 🙂

  6. Thank you for helping us pray and draw near Him today! God bless you!

    • Debbie, you are so welcome! Happy to be an encourager for others to draw near to thenLord. May He bless you as you drawn war to Him.

  7. Pingback: Once Again | hisimagenme

  8. Good post – thanks for the re-direction.

    • Dianne, thanks! We all need a little redirecting from time to time. Thankfully the Lord helps us get back on track. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

