God’s Great Plan

God’s plans for us are so very different than our own plans because His thoughts and His ways are so different.

Isaiah 55:8

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the Lord.

We have a dream or a vision of what our life is going to be like. Can you remember what you thought your life was going to be like when you were a child? Many of us had dreams of a career far different than the one we have or a life far different than the one we are living because the thoughts we had as a child are very different than the thoughts we have as an adult. In a way, it is similar to our thoughts and plans being different than the Lord’s.

Exodus 13:17-18a

When Pharaoh let the people go, God did not lead them on the road through the Philistine country, though that was shorter. For God said, “If they face war, they might change their minds and return to Egypt.”  So God led the people around by the desert road toward the Red Sea.

When the Israelites left Egypt, the Lord did not lead them on the most direct route. He had them take a different route because His plan was different than their plan would have been. The Israelites probably would have chosen to take the most direct route, but they were following the Lord because they didn’t know where they were going. They trusted Him to lead them where He needed them to go.

How often do we trust the Lord like that, to lead us wherever He wants us to go without knowing the destination? There was a purpose to HIm leading them on a detoured route, He didn’t want them to become discouraged.

The Lord does the same thing for us today if we will trust Him. His plans don’t always lead us on the most direct route but there is a reason for it and often we don’t know the final destination. I was working at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center as a counselor in the pediatric and adolescent clinic when the Lord called me into ministry. Working in children’s ministry was not my plan, I had gone back to school to get my master’s in counseling and my plan was to work as a counselor.

I trusted the Lord and left my job to work in children’s ministry. His plans were so much greater than my own. I didn’t now at the time that the route He had me on was not a direct route to where I am today. Currently I write and speak at women’s conferences and retreats worldwide. The route He had for me was one of teaching and growing in my knowledge and love of Him and developing a more personal and intimate relationship with Him. 

I served three years in children’s ministry and was a youth pastor for two years. Neither of those were part of my plan but I learned a lot and my relationship with the Lord really grew. I never would have pictured myself being a writer and a speaker, but the Lord did. His plans are so much greater than our own, if only we will trust Him and follow where He leads.

Ephesians 3:20

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,

Are you where you want to be or where you thought you would be at this point in your life? Seek the Lord and His plans for you. He will lead and direct you in the way He wants you to go. He may not tell you your final destination, but you can be assured He has many things to teach you along the way. His ways are not always the direct ones, but they are the best ones.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “God’s Great Plan

  1. Thank you for sharing about how He lead you on a different route to get you where He has you today, Shelly. Really, really encouraging! God bless you and all He has you doing!

    • Debbie, it has been an adventurous journey and far greater than I would have ever imagined. Our God is so good!

  2. I cannot wait for God to explain it all when we get to heaven. Thanks for the encouraging word today!

    • Sue, I love your comment. It will be very interesting to gain full understanding when we get to met the Lord face to face. Blessings!

  3. Great post! So very true:)

  4. My life couldn’t be further from where I imagined or even wanted it to be, unfortunately that means its been a fairly bitter journey but at the same time and in another sense I’m thankful for it.

    • J, our journeys are not always easy or what we expected, but we are blessed to not have to face anything alone because the Lord is right there with us. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

