God Chose You

“Lift your eyes and look upon Me. For though you have forgotten Me, I have not forgotten you. While you have busied yourselves with your daily occupations, I have still been occupied with you. When your mind has been captured by the affairs of life, My thoughts have been of you.

A powerful excerpt from “Come Away My Beloved” by Frances Roberts. It is amazing how a few sentences can really speak volumes. How often do those sentences describe your relationship with the Lord? It is easy for us to get caught up in our to-do lists and accomplishing all the tasks we have laid out before us each day and when we come to the end of the day, we realize we have yet to spend any time with the Lord.

Our God is a faithful God who thinks about us, loves us and wants to interact with us. Christianity is the only religion where you are able to have a personal and intimate relationship with God and is the only religion where the Lord seeks you first. 

John 15:16

You did not choose me, but I chose you…

John 6:44

No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws them…

We talk a lot about choosing Christ and accepting Christ into our hearts but we often forget the first part. He first chose us, He first drew us to Himself. Our relationship with the Lord starts with Him, not with us. When we look at our relationship from this perspective it becomes about the Lord and not about us. He is the one who is always faithful and never changing, whose love is never failing.

It is truly amazing to know that the Lord of the universe, the Lord who created everything your eye can see cares about you and cares about me, not just as a group of people but as individuals. He cares about what is going on in your life and He wants to minister to you and bring you comfort and encouragement if only you will take the time to spend with Him. It is difficult to be encouraged or comforted by someone we have not had any contact with throughout the day.

I remember a friend in Bible study once said, “God doesn’t hit the snooze button on me.” How often do we plan to spend some time in prayer in the morning and choose to sleep in instead? The Lord is eagerly waiting to hear from you, won’t you take the time to speak to Him today and listen to what He has to say to you?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “God Chose You

  1. Thank you. That was very helpful. How easily we forget that the initiative has always been with our Lord who waits patiently for us to respond.

    • Nigel, it is so easy for us to forget He waits on us and how blessed we are that he does. Have a great day!

  2. Juli Browning

    Shelly – wow. Thank you for these words!!! love you

    • Juli, thanks for your kind words. I greatly appreciate all your encouragement and support! Love you

  3. I LOVE Francis!! Great post…many blessings to you Sister 🙂

  4. Just had a funny thought: When it comes to our relationship and conduct with God, we’re a lot like little kids. When it comes to rebellion, God can safely say to us, “You started it!” But when it comes to love, if we’re honest, we have to say to God, “You started it…” So glad he did!
    And so glad you’re sharing it! Be blessed!

  5. I’m so glad that God chose me, I too sometimes forget that he is loving me and will never forget me. Thanks for the great post

  6. Deanna

    This is such an amazing post. Thank you so much for the reminder. This brought tears to my eyes. It is so wonderful to remember that he first chose us. This line “For though you have forgotten Me, I have not forgotten you.” really touched my heart, particularly as I struggle daily with my Christian walk.

    • Deanna, thanks so much for the words of encouragement! I love it when God uses us to reach others for Him. It is truly amazing to realize the Lord chose us. Blessings to you and your family!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

