Spiritual Boot Camp Day 6

Congratulations! You have made it through the first week of spiritual boot camp. I hope digging into James and spending time in prayer is helping your grow in your faith and most important is helping you draw closer to the Lord.

James 1:19-21

19 My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, 20 because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires. 21 Therefore, get rid of all moral filth and the evil that is so prevalent and humbly accept the word planted in you, which can save you.

There is so much packed into verse 19. First of all it says “take note of this”. We know that everything in God’s Word is to help us live our lives well but we are told what comes next is especially important and we are to make sure we “take note” of it. The first thing it says in verse 19 is “everyone should be quick to listen”. How often are you quick to listen? We are much more likely to be quick to speak versus quick to listen. When you are having an argument or heated discussion with someone are you listening to what they are saying or are you planning out your response?

In addition to being “quick to listen”, we are to be “slow to speak”. The Greek word for “slow” is means “cautious, deliberate, not in knee-jerk reactionary fashion”. Being slow to speak means more than simply being slow to respond but to think about what you are going to say and being cautious with your choice of words and not simply reacting to what has been said to you. Are you slow to speak in this way or do you regularly put your foot in your mouth?

It also says we are to be “slow to become angry”. I did a Bible study this year called “Having a Mary Spirit” by Joanna Weaver and she talked about the fact that we choose to be offended. When someone says something to us, we have a choice on whether or not we are offended by it. If we are “slow to become angry” we will be making the choice not to be offended and it will certainly impact the rest of the conversation. This is described in verse 20 “human anger does not produce the righteousness God desires.”

The final verse talks about getting rid of “moral filth and evil” and instead “humbly accepting the word. We need to humbly accept God’s Word and His truth in our lives. The Greek word for humbly is prautes. “Prautes is not readily expressed in English.  It is a condition of mind and heart which demonstrates gentleness, not in weakness but in power. It is a balance born in strength of character”

When you look back over this week, have there been times when you have not been quick to listen? Have you, instead, been quick to speak? Have you reacted in anger? Seek forgiveness from the Lord and from anyone who you may have hurt or offended with your words. Do you humbly accept God’s Word? What parts of your character need to be strengthened? Ask the Lord to reveal areas of your character that need to be submitted to Him and His ways.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Spiritual Boot Camp Day 6

  1. Wilma

    This “quick to listen”, “slow to speak”, and the anger stuff? Still challenges for me. I guess sometimes my faith is not enough to the point that I forget about my confidence in God, that in God, I’m fine. Instead I get to feeling I have to show my worth by thinking of what ‘intelligent’ thing I’m going to say so that I look like I have something. Therefore, I don’t listen. I am thinking about what I’m going to say and when I mess it up, the anger surfaces. That anger can come in any form, at any point, and the cycle continues. If I keep up my Bible study, spend time with God, and pray, I’m better to remember that I’m safe in God’s hands and can therefore, slow down, listen, take time to respond and not have to regret. The cycle breaks. Thank you. I needed this scripture today and most likely will need it again.

    • Wilma, this is the verse that speaks so much to me. It is hard to not be thinking of my response but rather taking the time to listen to what is being said. Being in the Word and spending time in prayer is the key to being able to walk in His Spirit versus our flesh. Glad this was helpful and love reading yoru comments! Be blessed today friend!!

  2. Yes, I struggle with these daily! Lord help me today!

    • Amen! We all have struggles but the Lord is our hope and our help. Thanks for sharing, Toni!

  3. This verse in James is why I think his book has always been such a hard one to gulp. I do struggle with this, but I think we all do on varying levels. With God’s help this week, I have already been trying to put this into practice in a situation at work of dealing with a difficult person. He is able when I give Him the control; His righteousness being demonstrated in my life is much lovelier than the mess I make when I lose it and speak my mind! Thanks, Shelly. Enjoying your Bible study.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

