Spiritual Boot Camp Day 21

I hope you had a wonderful weekend and are ready to dig back into our study of James. We begin this week in chapter 4.

James 4:1

What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you?

The 12 tribes scattered among the nations that James was writing to were obviously not living lives that were peace loving James talked about at the end of chapter 3. He is addressing fights and quarrels that were occurring amongst the people. James blames these fights on their own desires.

The Greek word for desire is “hedone” is defined as “pleasure, desire, enjoyment”. It is where we get the English word hedonism. Hedonism is defined as “the doctrine that pleasure or happiness is the sole or chief good in life”. Do your desires for your own pleasure or enjoyment cause arguments or quarrels in your life? Do you ever have arguments over having “time to yourself” or having time to do your favorite hobby or sport?

James says that these “desires battle within you”. He is describing the internal battle Paul spent a lot of time talking about between the desires of the sinful nature or our flesh and the desires God has for us. Let’s take a look at what these two types of desires look like. We will start by looking at the desires of the sinful nature followed by a Scripture that looks at the fruit of following the desires of the Holy Spirit.

Galatians 5:19-21
19 The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; 20 idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions 21 and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like.

Galatians 5:22-23

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control.

When you look at the two lists which describes your life more accurately today? Which areas do you struggle with on a regular basis? Paul explains that this internal struggle we have between the desires of our flesh and the desires of the Holy Spirit dwelling within us is something we will always struggle with in our lives.

 Romans 7:19, 21-23

19 For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 21 So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me. 22 For in my inner being I delight in God’s law; 23 but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me.

We have the same struggles both Paul and James talk about between our own desires and the desires of the Holy Spirit. In order for us to be able to bear the fruit of the Spirit, we need to yield our desires to His. This is not easy and it is not a one time decision. It is a minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day laying down of our desires in order to pick up His. We cannot do it on our own; we can only do it through His power working in us. However, he does not force us to do it, we must yield to it.

The only way we can know what His desires for us are is to spend time with the Lord in prayer and in His Word. Take some time to allow the Lord to reveal to you ares in your life where you are choosing your own desires over His and to reveal what His desires for you are today. 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Spiritual Boot Camp Day 21

  1. Wilma

    Yes, it is a constant battle! Even in church, as the service is starting, this battle can be happening. Once the singing starts and the prayers begin, my ears and heart hear the conviction of the Holy Spirit. Then the battle of my inner clock starts. I can’t wait to make amends, find a way to change. After a lot of “Sorries” to God, begging to the Holy Spirit, and asking Christ to ‘fix’ my head, I manage to feel grateful God loves me enough to have me convicted. Then I HAVE to DO something! God takes this VERY seriously, I believe. The timing of this stings a bit. The ‘above’ happened to me yesterday!

    • Wilma, His timing is always perfect! There is nothing I write about here that I haven’t experienced myself. I can relate to the conviction of the Holy Spirit and what a blessing it is, even when it is hard to hear. We do need to respond to His convictions. I find this happening to me often at church as well. It is one of the reasons why it is so important for us to be in a community of believers!

  2. Thank you for this post. Living in this world is so difficult because our sin nature lures us the wrong way. Only by reading the Word and praying, can we hope to stay close to the LORD.

    • Toni, Amen! We are so easily deceived by the desires of our flesh and can easily find our self giving in to them. However, the Lord has provided us with His Holy Spirit and His Word to help us.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

