Ephesians

freeimage-5085343-high

I enjoyed studying the book of James with all of you through our Spiritual Boot Camp so much. I’ve decided to do the same with the book of Ephesians. Today I will go over some background information for the book and we will start looking at chapter one on Wednesday. I plan to post on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Hope you will join me in this study.

The book of Ephesians was written by Paul during his imprisonment in Rome around 60-62 AD.  There are three verses within this letter that refer to his imprisonment.

Ephesians 3:1

For this reason I, Paul, the prisoner of Christ Jesus for the sake of you Gentiles – 

Ephesians 4:1

As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received.

Ephesians 6:20

for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.

This letter doesn’t address any particular problems the church was facing, but rather talks about God’s grace and eternal purpose for His church and unity in Christ and within the body of Christ. The “Tyndale Concise Bible Commentary” has this to say about it’s purpose, it is “designed for those with a need for a deeper and more consistent fellowship with God.” Does that sound like you – are you interested in a deeper and more consistent fellowship with God?

Ephesus was the largest city in the province of Asia which is modern day Turkey. It was a commercial center located on a major trade route. Paul came to Ephesus during his second missionary journey.

Acts 18:19

 19 They arrived at Ephesus,where Paul left Priscilla and Aquila. He himself went into the synagogue and reasoned with the Jews.

Paul returned to Ephesus and stayed there for about three years.

Acts 19:8-10

Paul entered the synagogue and spoke boldly there for three months, arguing persuasively about the kingdom of God. But some of them became obstinate; they refused to believe and publicly maligned the Way. So Paul left them. He took the disciples with him and had discussions daily in the lecture hall of Tyrannus. 10 This went on for two years, so that all the Jews and Greeks who lived in the province of Asia heard the word of the Lord.

During this time in Ephesus, Paul helped spread the Word of God through not just Ephesus, but the province of Asia. I love reading about how God’s Word spread by others sharing it. Seems pretty simple, but yet, we are so hesitant to do it . We are easily intimidated or worried about offending others. Paul was so bold in his faith. When some chose to not believe, he left them but continued to preach the good news. He wasn’t intimidated or worried about offending people; he was worried about sharing God’s Word. What a difference we could make in the world if we had the boldness of faith Paul had. I am looking forward to studying this book with you and growing in our knowledge of His Word. Even more so, I am praying we will grow in our faith and closer to the Lord so others will see Him in us and we can help those around us come to know and love our Lord and Savior.

  • All Scripture references from http://www.biblegateway.com
  • Quote from “Tyndale Concise Bible Commentary”, Robet B. Hughes and J. Carl Laney, Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Ephesians

  1. I’m looking forward to going on this journey. We all could use a deeper and more consistent fellowship with God. It doesn’t matter where we are in our walk with Him, there is always another level we can go to. I love Ephesians and can’t wait to read the insights God gives you for this book.

    • Chris, I am excited for this study as well. I love digging into God’s Word and learning how He wants me to apply it to my life. I agree there is always another level we can go to with God – we can constantly learn something new from His Word and see Him working in our lives in new ways.

  2. Wilma

    I do pray for boldness because I am a big chicken. I look forward to this. Thank you.

    • Wilma, I used to be a big chicken too:) Prayer certainly helps with boldness. I am glad you will be joining me for this study!! Blessings, friend.

  3. Debby Scarborough

    Count me in! I love studying His Word and digging deeper! Thanks for leading us Shelly!

  4. Looking forward to your new study, Shelly.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

