Faith and Love

1002844_645636232115918_1017120702_n

I hope you had a wonderful weekend and are ready to dig back into our study on Ephesians.

Ephesians 1:15-16

15 For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all God’s people, 16 I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers.

Verses 15-23 are considered Paul’s prayer of thanksgiving and we will be looking at it this week. In the Greek, it is a single sentence which gives the idea of consistency of thought throughout the prayer. In these two verses Paul is giving thanks for the people’s faith in Christ and the way they love each other. He also says he remembers them in his prayers.

When you think of people you know who have that kind of faith, who comes to mind? I have been amazingly blessed by wonderful sisters in Christ who have shown me how to really walk out my faith every day. They have poured wisdom, love, encouragement and support into my life. In fact, two of them, Lynn and Betsy came up with the idea for this blog and I am so grateful they did!

My dear friends are such wonderful examples of women of faith and they truly inspire me. They not encourage and uplift me, they challenge me. They are the friends who tell me what I need to hear, not just what I want to hear. I thank God for these women and keep them in my prayers.

Paul not only thanked God for the faith of the people but also for their love for God’s people. Who do you know that loves God’s people with His amazing love? There are so many wonderful people who serve the Lord by loving others. An example from my life is my friend, Susan, who is currently in Uganda on a mission trip where she is serving at a medical clinic and ministering to orphans. This is not her first trip and she is being reunited with a couple of twins, Opio and Grace that she has spent time with on previous visits. Susan is truly a woman of incredible faith and is loving God’s people.

Who has poured into your life? Whose faith is inspiring to you? Who has loved you with a love that is gracious, compassionate, forgiving and patient? Take some time to thank God for them. Who does God want you to love with HIs love? Who in your life needs forgiveness, compassion and acceptance today. May we be the kind of people Paul was writing to; people who walk out their faith by loving others!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Faith and Love

  1. Love the book of Ephesians. Paul had an incredible ministry and was a great evangelist. Thanks for this study. I look forward to following along!

    • Toni, I love the book of Ephesians too. So glad you are joining us for this study. Blessings!

  2. I just finished it and there’s so much to glean!

    • Deborah, that is wonderful! The book of Ephesians is so rich and has so much to teach us. I am looking forward to the rest of our study. Glad to have you joining the study. Blessings!

  3. Glad I’ve finally found soetihmng I agree with!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

