His Grace is Sufficient

DSC_0260

Today we will look at how Paul understood that God’s grace was sufficient for Him and how God could use him regardless of his past.

Ephesians 3:8

Although I am less than the least of all the Lord’s people, this grace was given me: to preach to the Gentiles the boundless riches of Christ,

Paul considered himself “less than the least of all the Lord’s people” because of his past.

Acts. 9:1-2

Meanwhile, Saul was still breathing out murderous threats against the Lord’s disciples. He went to the high priest and asked him for letters to the synagogues in Damascus, so that if he found any there who belonged to the Way, whether men or women, he might take them as prisoners to Jerusalem.

Remember Paul’s name used to be Saul and he spent his time trying to capture and persecute followers of Christ. Even though Paul had a less than stellar past, the Lord chose him to preach the good news to the Gentiles. If God can use someone like Paul who persecuted Christ’s followers, God can use you too.

Sometimes we allow the enemy to convince us we cannot be used by God. We allow Satan to use our guilt or shame from things in our past or even things we are currently doing to convince us we cannot serve the Lord. Jesus came to provide forgiveness for our sins; our sins from the past, our sins we are currently committing and our sins we will commit in the future. There is nothing you have done that will prevent the Lord from using you to serve His purposes. His grace was sufficient for Paul and it is sufficient for you as well. Spend some time seeking forgiveness from the Lord for your sins and ask Him to reveal to you how He wants to use you to serve Him.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “His Grace is Sufficient

  1. After my divorce and everything else that happened in my life in 2003, I bought into the lie that I could no longer be used by God. It took God’s Word and friends who continued to encourage me to believe that He could use me even though I was broken. None of us are beyond repair and none of us have gone beyond where God’s grace can reach. He can use us for His purposes no matter how broken we’ve been.

    • Chris, absolutely! Our past doesn’t have to determine our future because we have the amazing grace of God!

  2. Thank you Shelly, I think I needed to hear this today.

    • Deborah, I am so thankful God used this post to speak to you. I love being able to encourage people in their faith journey from afar. Be blessed today!

  3. I am so grateful that the LORD is using you here in blogland to speak to me and all the others. You have ministered to me and I truly appreciate it! Love you dear sister in Christ! 🙂

    • Toni, you are so encouraging to me! I love being able to share God’s Word through this blog and encourage people to grow in their faith. I have greatly enjoyed your blog and am so inspired by your story. It is such a joy to have found a sister in Christ through blogging!

      • Agree! I was so depressed because I could find no one to share my deep and abiding love for the LORD with. I felt so alone. Praise the LORD for encouraging me to start blogging and finding you! Have a great weekend! 🙂

      • I have certainly been blessed by your blog and know others have as well. Praise God for connecting us!

  4. Excellent job, this shows how concupiscence is active in everything we do. We need to be aware that the devil is on every corner just waiting for us to make a mistake. If he gets its way, it will be over before we can respond. So stay in prayer all day. Again, thank you for being another blessing in the on going works in my salvation. Paul

    • Paul, I do believe the enemy wants to thwart God’s plans for us but am comforted in knowing Jesus was and is victorious over Him. Staying in prayer and the Word helps us stay on track with our faith walk. Blessings!

  5. This is wonderful. Not everyone comes to Christ as a child. For those of us who were well into adulthood when we came to Christ, the past is often a regret. This story is a wonderful reminder of God’s grace. Thank you for sharing.

    • Julie, Amen! As someone who didn’t come to know the Lord until I was an adult, it is very comforting to know that His grace is sufficient for me.

  6. Sometimes, we feel we have over done it…that the blood of Jesus might not be able to atone for it, but that’s far from the truth and such thought and feeling could only have been instigated by the Liar (Satan). God’s love for us is eternal, infact He simply can’t stop loving us.

    • Anuoluwapo, you are so right. We think we have done something that cannot be forgiven, but that is simply not true. His grace is sufficient to cover all our sins. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

