Because I Said So

Image

As a parent, I really like the verses we are going to look at today because they have to do with our children.

Ephesians 6:1-3

Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother”—which is the first commandment with a promise— “so that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.”

Paul is speaking directly to children in this passage and telling them to obey their parents. Notice the relationship he adds to the equation “in the Lord”. He is reminding them of the relationship they have with the Lord. God put a structure in place for relationships and children are to obey their parents. Just as marriages fall under the relationship of Christ, so do the relationships between parents and children.

Exodus 20:12

12 “Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land theLord your God is giving you.

Paul is quoting from the 10 commandments when he says “honor your father and mother”. The promise is the blessing that comes from honoring your parents. Children are to obey their parents because parents are the head of the children as Christ is the head of the church.

I can remember being frustrated with my parents when they told me to do something and when I asked “why” the only response I got was “because I said so.” As an adult and a parent, I understand what my parents were really saying in that response. They were saying I was to do something or not to do something simply out of obedience and honor. The obedience and honor is because they knew more than I did and they knew what was best for me, just like the Lord does. The “because I said so” is said out of love and a desire to protect.

As a child, I said I would never tell my children “because I said so”. However, as an adult and a parent, I have used those exact words because now I understand the meaning behind them. Is there something you feel the Lord has told you to do or not to do? Are you being obedient and honoring Him? Why or why not? Are you arguing with Him about why you should do something or why you don’t want to do something He is asking of you? Maybe His response might just be “because I said so.”

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Because I Said So

  1. AMEN! When it comes to raising our families the bible is the perfect manual for us. Sadly enough we don’t always reach for the bible as parents.

    • Desiray, you are so right – not enough of people read the Bible, and therefore, don’t know what God has to say about being a parent. May we encourage those in our lives to read His Word daily. Blessings!

  2. I really love the way you introduced “I said so”. Our parents are our duty, we have to obey them willingly regardless of what they ask for, except if it’s against God’s laws, then you’re free to disobey.

    Then comes the issue of God, I always say that religion makes life easier and more comfortable, God told us what to do and what not to do. If we obey him and live up to the laws he put, we’ll have a fulfilling and satisfying life, otherwise, it’ll destroy us on the long term. Either way we take, eventually, we’ll be back to God asking for mercy and forgiveness.

    Sometimes, we apply without realizing the truth and wisdom behind what we apply but patience will open our eyes to the fruit of belief and faith.

    🙂 very nice post.

    • Bur911, I think a relationship with the Lord certainly makes life easier because regardless of what we face, we aren’t facing it alone. God has given us His Word to help us know how to live our lives and that applies to raising children as well. Be blessed!

  3. The opening prayer for this upcoming Sunday in my denomination fit this so well –

    Almighty and everlasting God, give unto us the increase of faith, hope, and charity; and, that we may obtain that which thou dost promise, make us to love that which thou dost command; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who liveth and reigneth with thee and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.

    Make us love what You have commanded so we can embrace your promises in our lives.Wrap that around your brain! (and to think it was written over 400 yrs ago).

    • Julie, love the prayer! We certainly need to follow His commands and it really comes down to an issue of a love relationship with the Lord. When we love Him, we want to obey Him. Thanks for sharing the prayer!

  4. I never thought about it like that, but God is our Father. He knows best, and He is God. He doesn’t need to give us an explanation. Our disobedience shows our lack of spiritual maturity. Thank you for a great post.

    • Julie, our Heavenly Father certainly knows what is best for us. It is so much better for us when we really understand that. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

