Are You Overcommitted?

Image

As we approach the Thanksgiving and Christmas season, it is a great time to take stock in how we are spending our time. Are you exhausted just thinking about the upcoming holiday season? Maybe you need to think about pruning some of the activities in your life.

John 15:2

2 He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.

We are to bear fruit for the Lord and it is hard for us to bear fruit if we are too busy to spend time with him. When you look at your calendar for the week, are you so busy that you don’t have time spend with the Lord in prayer or spend time reading His Word? If your calendar is already completely booked, it may be time for you to prune some of the activities in your life.

It is not possible for us to bear fruit if, as branches, we are not connected to the vine.

John 15:5

5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

Another way for us to be connected to the vine is to be part of a Christian community. If your week is too busy for you to be part of a Bible study, small group or to attend church, perhaps things in your life need some pruning.

We live in a society where we feel the more we do the more successful we are. However, Jesus reminds us without Him, we can do nothing. If we don’t have time to spend with Him, we won’t know what He wants us to do.

Spend some time looking at your calendar. Are you saying “yes” to too many activities that are preventing you from having time with the Lord? Seek the Lord and see if there are activities you are involved in that are preventing you from bearing His fruit. Sometimes doing less can actually mean bearing more fruit in your life. More is not always better. Less can be exactly what Christ requires of us. 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Are You Overcommitted?

  1. godspoint777@gmail.com

    Absolutely. Much love and blessings!
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

    • Godspoint777, it is so easy for us to become too busy for The Lord and when we do, we find we are no longer bearing fruit. May we all find time for Him today. Be blessed!

  2. Elizabeth Crites

    Holiday season can get so busy and we can forget Jesus is the reason for the season. I will work on staying pruned and bearing fruit.

    • Elizabeth, you are so right. The holiday season brings a busyness to our lives and can distract us from what Christmas is really all about. May we all work on staying pruned so we can bear His fruit. Blessings dear friend!

  3. btw Shelly, I am Anglican as well. I am president of the Anglican churchwomen in the Diocese of Fort Worth as well as a professional speaker and retreat leader. I also write for several Anglican publications and have written Bible studies, one for the Anglican Relief andDevelopment Fund.

    If one of your church groups ever need a speaker, I’d love to drive down from DFW. I speak to church groups all over Texas. Email me at juliebcosgrove@gmail.com and I’ll send you my bio, or you can go to my website http://www.juliebcosgrove.com.

    I may be able to reciprocate. I am planning 3-4 women’s quiet days next Lent in the DFW area, one in Grand Prairie. Would you be interested in driving up and leading the exercise you blogged about that you did at Grace on mapping your spiritual journey?

    Thanks! I continue to pray for God’s using you through your blog.

    Julie

    • Julie, I would love to come up to Ft. Worth and go through the exercise with your ladies! I am thrilled to know you would consider coming to Katy. We will be planning future events for our ladies after the first of the year and would love to be able to have you come. I am part of a group of women from the churches in our diocese – The Diocese of the Western Gulf Coast that is putting together a retreat for the women of our diocese in February. It is a blessing to know other Anglican women are gathering to grow in their faith. Blessings!

  4. Great article. I am definitely guilty of taking on/worrying about way too much. I’ve found it helpful im the midst of my day – to put everything down, take a deep breath, and ask God to guide me to what He wants me to do – I choose to surrender my day to Him. He helps me let go of the things that can wait, and those things eventually get done in time – His time. That being said – sometimes I fail miserably and fall flat on my face! Once I get up again, I try to remember that falling is a reminder to find my strength in Christ!

    • Nodimlight, thanks for the kind words. What a great way to live your life by seeking Him first. The Lord will certainly show us what He wants us to do and when to do it. You are right – His timing is perfect. Blessings!

      • Blessings! Now only if I could do this with some sort of consistency! Succeeded or fail, I guess, God still teaches us His desires and path for us!

      • Nodimlight, amen! it is a constant struggle to seek Him consistently and to be consistently obedient. We are all a work in progress and thankfully covered in His grace.

  5. What a wonderful reminder to keep all the hustle and bustle of the season in perspective and to redirect our thoughts toward God who we celebrate and give thanks. Thank you for a very timely message as I prepare for next week. I just crossed a few things of my list 🙂

    • Lilka, thanks for the encouraging words. The holidays certainly bring a new sense of busyness to our lives and to prepare for them in advance is the key. I am humbled and blessed to know this post has helped you look at what the Lord would have you do and what He would have you not do. Be blessed!

      • I always enjoy your posts! Your post was a very timely affirmation of what I should and should not concern myself with at this busy time of year. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving 🙂

  6. Shelly, you are right on point here. Being busy can take us away from what God calls us to do. During this season when we celebrate the birth of our Savior, it’s harder than ever to keep the focus on Him, unless we slow down. Great post Shelly.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

