Time to Pray

Time to Pray

Is prayer your steering wheel or your spare tire?

by Corrie Ten Boom

I love that quote from Corrie Ten Boom. It really puts our prayer life into perspective. As we approach Christmas, our lives become more and more chaotic. Unfortunately, when more things get added to our calendars and to-do lists, prayer is the first thing that falls to the bottom of the list.

Our prayer time should be like the steering wheel of a car, steering us in the direction the Lord would have us go. A steering wheel is a necessity for a car in order to proceed in the direction you wish to go. Prayer is a necessity for us to have an intimate relationship with the Lord. Without prayer, the direction of our lives is going to veer off course.

We need to be intentional about our prayer time, especially as we enter the busy Christmas season. One way to do that is to literally make an appointment with God everyday. Schedule some time in your calendar each day to spend with the Lord – like an important meeting you can’t miss. Then truly set that time aside without your email, Facebook, cell phone or any other distractions and give the Lord your undivided attention.

We need to seek the Lord to know what He would have us focus on during this busy season. Let’s let our prayer time be like the steering wheel of a car – necessary in order to get us where we need to go. Let’s not have it be like the spare tire we only pull out in times of trouble.

  • Photo by Shelly Sorem
Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Time to Pray

  1. I have been thinking a lot about prayer and praying a lot more. Recently I was given a book by Beth Moore titled Whispers of Hope 10 weeks of devotional prayer. I haven’t started it yet but I know the book from a friend was actually a book from God. There is no hope without prayer. It’s how we participate in and acknowledge the power of God.

    Thank you for your faithful posting.

    • Talkingkindnesstome, so happy to hear this post spoke to you. Prayer is something easy for us to put on the back burner, but it is so essential to our relationship with the Lord and our spiritual health. Let me how you enjoy the devotional. I love finding out about good devotionals. Be blessed!

  2. Reblogged this on The Heart of My World and commented:
    The Lord must be our first love. 🙂

  3. I love your idea of making an appointment with God everyday. So true. Thank you!

    • Kendall, thanks! Scheduling is one of the ways I make sure I can get it in every day. Hope it works for you too!

  4. Mornings are my favorite time. I call it my serious study and prayer time, but I enjoy so much more the times I pray during the day. I love the fact that Jesus is with me 24/7 and is open to my prayers no matter what the time! ~ Blessings ~

    • Deborah, I love the mornings as well. Being able to talk with the Lord at any time during the day really helps us grow closer to Him!

  5. Love that idea – like the steering wheel of a car… I’ve been wanting a deeper prayer life recently. Thank you for this post.

    • Julie, I loved that analogy as well! May the Lord draw you even closer as you spend more time with Him!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

