Bring Back Our Girls

bring-back-our-girls

There is a lot of talk in the world right now about the Nigerian girls who were kidnapped. People are trying to make others throughout the world aware of this horrific event in an attempt to get people in power to do something.

Listening to the story on the news and reading about it can make us feel helpless. As a woman who lives in the U.S. I don’t have the power to do much to help this situation. My heart breaks for these girls and their families. I am a mother of two college aged daughters and I can’t begin to imagine what it would be like to have my daughters kidnapped and to know that their future is sex slavery.

As I listened to another account of this story on the news this morning, I was reminded that I am not helpless. I am powerful because I am a child of God. I might not be able to go to Nigeria to look for these girls or able to command others to do so, but I am not helpless. I have a Heavenly Father who is the God of gods, Lord of lords and King of kings. He loves these precious girls even more than their families do.

What I can do is seek Him on their behalf. I can cry out to the Lord for these girls and their families. I can cry out to Him to act on their behalf. I can ask the Lord to send His Holy Spirit to bring the girls and their families His peace that passes all understanding.

I know that the Lord is Sovereign and that nothing happens without a purpose for His people. I can’t begin to understand the ‘why’ of this event, but I know that the Lord has the power to bring beauty out of ashes and victory out of defeat.

Romans 8:28

 And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good,for those who are called according to his purpose.

We are not weak and powerless. We have not been given a spirit of fear.

2 Timothy 1:7

for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

Join me today in praying in power and love for those beautiful girls who have been kidnapped. I do not know how the Lord is involved in this situation, but I know He is even when I can’t see it. I don’t know what will happen, but I know I am called to love and pray for others. He hears our prayers when we call on Him.

Matthew 18:20

“For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I among them.”

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Bring Back Our Girls

  1. It’s actually Borno. Not burno.

    • Thanks! I got the image from the Internet. I hope as believers we all cry out to the Lord on behalf of these precious girls.

      • Yeah, I hear ya. I’m particularly testy now. Everyone is just talk and No action. I wasn’t personally affected but we all know How easily the tide could change.

      • I believe in the power of prayer. Our God is capable of miracles!

  2. Thanks for the reminder. These girls are in my heart and prayers.

  3. to pray to end sex slavery and trafficking around the world, go to http://www.prayerforfreedom.com. Learn what things you can do through prayer and how to spot the signs. Kids, boys and girls are being trafficked in cities all over the world- even in the U.S. Read about how prayer has already freed so many. Weekly blog, Scripture and focused prayers free in your email inbox.

    • Julie, thanks for sharing this. It is certainly something that should inspire all of us to pray.

    • Lilkaraphael, thanks for joining me in prayer for these young ladies. May the Lord bless them with peace and bring them home safely.

  4. Thank you, Shelly, for helping us pray. Joining you now . . .God bless!

    • Debbie, thank you so much! It is easy to feel helpless and forget that we serve a mighty and powerful God who hears us when we call to Him.

  5. Thank you Shelly for the reminder that prayer is important and powerful even when we can’t be there in person to “do something”. I sometimes read the news with shock and horror and then forget the power of prayer. I will be praying for the return of these girls, their community and their family members.

    • Novella, thank you for joining me in praying for these girls. I know the Lord hears our prayers.

  6. Thank you for this lovely reminder that we are not powerless because of the God we serve. We will get these precious young girls and their families on our prayer lists! Blessings.

    • Healing thoughts, thanks for jining me in praying for these girls. The Lord is with them and we can seek Him on their behalf. Be blessed.

  7. Linda Jones

    God can do anything but fail. He is awesome. God is good. I’m praying with you for the safe return of these girls and for the peace of God for us all.

    • Linda, thank you so much for joining me in prayer. The Lord is mighty to save and I know He is with the girls. Be blessed!

  8. Linda Jones

    God is all He is our savior, He is our healer, He is our deliverer and He will deliver these young girls safely home to their families. He is merciful. God bless you all.

  9. of course I will join you in praying for their safe return!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

