Religious Freedom Taken for Granted

ID-100227894

July 4th is Independence Day in the United States. This year I found myself very thankful for not only our independence but also our religious freedom. I am lucky to live in a country where we are free to practice whatever religion we want. However, that freedom can easily be taken for granted.

After living in the Middle East for four years, my appreciation for religious freedom is even greater. While we lived in Doha, Qatar we did not have the freedom to practice our religion the way we do here in the U.S. We could not read our Bibles in public, publicize our Bible studies or church services, wear anything that would identify us as a Christian or share our faith with others.

I wonder how many of us who live in countries that have religious freedom take advantage of that freedom. Do you read your Bible in public? Do you tell others about your church or Bible studies? Do you share your faith with others?

What good is the freedom we have if we don’t use it? We need to appreciate the fact we can openly practice our faith and share it with others. We need to be so excited about our relationship with the Lord  we want to tell others about it so they too, can have a relationship with Christ.

We need to be passionate about His Word and be willing to share it with others. Reading your Bible at a coffee shop, in the waiting room at a doctor’s office or while waiting for your child’s practice to end is a great conversation starter. Are you willing to read His Word in public? Are you willing to share His Word with others?

May we all reflect on our willingness to take advantage of our religious freedom and not take it for granted. May we live out the words of Paul to the Ephesians.

Ephesians 6:18-20
18 praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints, 19 and also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in chains, that I may declare it boldly, as I ought to speak.

Categories: Uncategorized | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Religious Freedom Taken for Granted

  1. Awesome questions and reminders to live our faith at all times. At work, while I am reading, I am always asked what book it is. Then I can share…and it also shines a light on me and my faith. When you identify yourself as a Christian (in my case Catholic) people watch everything you do and say. Makes it even MORE important to live your faith each and every day, no matter where you are.

    May God bless you and keep you in His care, Bernadette

    • Bernadette, reading His Word is a great conversation starter! It does let people know we are followers of Christ ands holds accountable to be good ambassadors for Him. Be blessed!

  2. Sasha

    Thanks for the reminder today!!

    • Sasha, it was a reminder I needed as well. It is easy for us to take our religious freedom for granted rather than being bold in our faith.

  3. Louise

    So beautifully expressed, Shelly! Thank you for all your messages!! Through His Spirit you uplift me and give me courage and strength! Bless you, dear sister!!!

    • Louise, thanks for your encouraging words! I am humbled and blessed that my blog posts are uplifting to you, to God be the glory!

  4. atimetoshare

    Thank you for saying these things. We take our freedom too much for granted.

    • Atimetoshare, freedom is a privilege and a responsibility. We need to make sure we are bold in our faith and don’t take our religious freedom for granted. Be blessed!

  5. Thanks so much for reminding us that Religious Freedom is alive and well in America.

    • Noel, it is a reminder I needed as well. We are blessed to have religious freedom but I’m not sure we take advantage of it very often.

  6. Living in another country does bless us with a unique perspective as to our freedom, including religious freedom. We can take it for granted. But if we will stop to remember those who don’t have access to Christianity, or those who are imprisoned for their faith, we can begin to realize how blessed we are. Great thoughts for our true independence.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

