Everything Belongs to God

Generosity

“A lack of generosity refuses to acknowledge that your assets are not really yours, but God’s.” Timothy Keller

This past Sunday, our Pastor, Bob Henson, gave a sermon on how generosity makes God smile. You can listen to it here http://www.graceanglicankaty.com/sermons/. It really made me think about what I think about my possessions.

Intellectually, I know everything I have is by the grace of God, but how do I feel about the things I have? Do I feel they belong to me or to God? There is a difference between understanding this intellectually and feeling it in your heart.

When I look around at my house and the things inside it, do I feel they belong to the Lord? I do feel my house belongs to the Lord, but the things within it make me struggle a bit more. When my husband and I were looking for our house and knew we were moving back to the U.S. I had a dear friend tell me I didn’t need to worry about finding a house. She knew God had already chosen our house and she said it would be a planting.

It wasn’t until much later that I understood what this meant. Our home has been able host Bible study, prayer meetings, women’s gatherings, etc. for our church. We are a church plant and do not have a permanent worships space. My house has been part of planting our church and it feels like it truly belongs to the Lord.

The things inside the house are a little harder to truly feel like they belong to the Lord. It isn’t something that will simply happen. Being more grateful for the things I have and recognizing that EVERYTHING I have belongs to the Lord is a good place to start.

How do you view your possessions? Are they yours or the Lord’s? If we can truly grasp that everything belongs to the Lord, we might not only be more generous but also be more grateful.

Psalm 24:1

The earth is the Lord‘s and the fullness thereof,
    the world and those who dwell therein,

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Everything Belongs to God

  1. Beautiful thought, sister Shelly. I am so delighted have read your post. I miss you and your posts so much 🙂 have a great and blessed day, sister.

    • Karina, thanks for your sweet words! My daughters have been home from college part of the time this summer so I have been posting less. Love reading your posts as well. They are always uplifting!

  2. this is so true.As I packed to move, I reconnectednmemories with cherished objects. My heart swelled. Each was so meaningful.I coveted each one.
    Then, when I lost my computer and a.v. equipment for my talks in the move, it gave me a whole new perspective. My son told me it was just stuff. God would still be on His throne.
    As I unpacked I thanked God for blessing me with these things and memories. He paved the way to replace what had been taken from me.

    • Julie, thanks for your great perspective. God is good all the time. He is on His throne and should be on the throne of our hearts rather than our possessions. Blessings!

  3. Louise

    You are so right, Shelly!! Thank you for the post – it is reminding me!!! I am in the middle of dealing with so many items and stuff – inherited and collected. I am asking God to direct me in what to do with all of it. You are so right – it all belongs to Him and we are only the caretakers for Him.

    • Louise, I love the idea of being caretakers of our stuff for the Lord. That is a great perspective. Good luck sorting through your stuff. I pray the Lord leads you through the process.

  4. A couple years ago I felt a strong prompting to get rid of 80% of my stuff. I realised that my stuff was actually holding me back from moving forward in life for a variety of reasons. I got rid of 90% of my material belongings and I have not regretted it since.
    What little I do have left I continually give thanks to God for them. I was also able to pay off all my consumer debt.
    Thank you for the reminder that what we have also belongs to God.

    • God, Faith & Fitness, Wow! What an amazing testimony of how we are to treat our belongings. We are to possess our possessions, not be possessed by them. Sounds like you truly understand that. Thanks for sharing your story. Be blessed!

  5. Oh Shelly, this is really good and I need to know in my heart that all I have is His, on loan to me. My mom’s duplex was hit by a tornado and much was lost, but she was saved! Lots to praise Him for! Some of her things were recovered, but she is finding herself in a different place now, thankful for her life and family and no longer caring about the ‘things’. God bless you as you help us draw ever closer to Him.

  6. I fully understood this after experiencing great loss in several areas of my life. My home and earthly possessions were no longer important. The people I love were all that mattered….and, they belong to Him, too. Thank you Father, for surrounding me with Your beloved children. I am truly blessed.

    Grateful for this beautiful message,
    Sandra Brooks McCravy

    • Sandra, thanks for your thoughtful comment. Suffering loss is so difficult but often it is the only thing that really helps us gain the proper perspective on our stuff and what is truly important. The love your reminder that the people God puts in our lives also belong to Him. Be blessed!

  7. Planting Potatoes

    good words….well written! If we can reach a place where we recognize everything belonging to God…then true contentment can enter our lives….and that’s when we can truly feel like we have all we need….!

    • Planting Potatoes, thanks for the encouraging words. You are so right that we find true contentment when we realize all we have and all we are is because of the amazing grace of our Lord! Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

