Waiting on the Lord

Slide1

Impatient is a great word to describe what we have become. We live in a world of instant gratification where we are used to getting what we want when we want it. We have so many ways to connect with others instantaneously. We can text, tweet, post a status or message someone on FB or Instagram and we expect an immediate response.

We are not very patient when we have to wait. If someone doesn’t immediately respond to a text or message, we easily become frustrated. Do we feel the same way about the Lord? Do we become frustrated and impatient when we don’t feel like we have heard back from Him on something we are praying about?

J. I. Packer gives a beautiful perspective on this in his book Knowing God. “Wait on the Lord” is a constant refrain in the Psalms, and it is a necessary word, for God often keeps us waiting. He is not in such a hurry as we are, and it is not his way to give more light on the future than we need for action in the present, or to guide us more than one step at a time. When in doubt, do nothing, but continue to wait on God. When action is needed, light will come.”

If you are waiting on the Lord, perhaps instead of feeling frustrated or doubting whether or not He heard you, simply wait. He will reveal to you what He needs you to know or what He needs you to do in His time, not yours.

There is much that can happen in the waiting. The Lord may be developing your dependence upon Him and building your faith. He may be putting things in place ahead of what He needs you to do. He may be waiting on someone else to act in obedience. Whatever the reason is, waiting on the Lord is not a waste of time or merely a holding pattern. There is always a purpose for the waiting and we usually don’t recognize what it is until after the fact, if ever.

Psalm 27:14

Wait for the Lord;
    be strong, and let your heart take courage;
    wait for the Lord!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Waiting on the Lord

  1. Thanks for the reminder. It is so easy to forget that we only see a tiny speck of his divine plan:-)

  2. I can’t help but notice what the psalms writer has noted for waiting on the Lord, strength and courage of heart. Why do we need both of those? Because waiting ain’t easy! Regardless, thanks for this post, a great reminder to my impatient self that God asks us to wait because He loves us and is kind.

    • God, faith and fitness, amen! We certainly need strength and courage during the waiting. Without it we are sure to become impatient. Blessings!

  3. This is a great reminder. I honestly fall in the impatient category more than I want to… *sigh*

    • Jennifer, I find myself in the impatient category more often than I would like too. It was a reminder I needed as well. Blessings!

  4. I often say, “Patience is a virtue and I don’t have any virtues!” But of course it is a joke (or is it)? Yes it is, but patience is not one of my strong points, so a reminder to wait on The Lord is very timely. Thank you 🙂

    • Patricia Ann, patience is something we all struggle with. It is one of the fruit of the spirit because we are able to be patient when we are filled with His Spirit. Waiting on the Lord is not easy but necessary. When we are able to wait on Him we are strengthened and given courage. Blessings!

  5. Thanks for sharing this. I need this now for a situation I am currently in waiting for God to show the next open door that I feel is badly needed. I know God will answer in the right time. I just need to be patient and wait.

    • Tom, waiting can be so difficult. However, if we choose to see it as God working things out in His way and in His time, it makes it a bit easier. He gives us courage and strength in the waiting. Be blessed and hope you see the open door soon!

  6. Shelly,
    I recall the years – and years! – it took me to learn patience. {Not that I totally have it perfected. 😉 } – but I recall that time of my life so well, because for over two decades before that I knew patience was a big problem for me… I didn’t have much. For various reasons: because of the depression that I suffered before I was healed, because of life circumstances being so extremely hard, and other similar reasons. But the Lord showed me that in all of that I still could choose. Today I feel the wonderful UNheavy feeling when I just choose patience.

    What a lovely post you have here. 🙂 Thanks for your stopping by my site and encouraging me through the last almost 2 years now since I started. Can’t remember when we first met but I do remember your encouragement from for my writing and for my books.
    Blessings dear lady!
    Heather

    • Heather, waiting on the Lord can be very challenging but there is always something for us in the waiting. Sounds like you have experienced that for yourself. It is great to connect with other followers of Christ and be able to encourage one another! Be blessed!

  7. Planting Potatoes

    great message! just look at how long the Israelites wandered around in the desert…or even how long before they were delivered from slavery! The amount of earthly time that passes…does not alter a promise from God….it will always be in his time.

    • Planting Potatoes, love the reminder of the Israelites time in the desert. Waiting can seem like an eternity to us but regardless of how long we have to wait, His promises are true and He is trustworthy!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

