The Same, but Different

same but different

We are not the same person we were a year ago. Today we are similar to who we were a year ago, but not the same. If you were to think back to what you were like a year ago, what differences would you notice? It is easy to look at a picture and recognize the physical changes, but what about the changes that aren’t physical?

We are designed to change. We were created to become more and more like Christ. Once we put our faith and trust in Jesus, we become a new creation.

2 Corinthians 5:17

 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

Our transformation doesn’t end the minute we become followers of Christ. We do become new creations, but we have to yield to the leading of His Holy Spirit dwelling within us to continue to become more like Him.

Romans 12:2

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Our transformation begins with our minds and how we think and view the world. Are we viewing the world and making decisions based on the viewpoint of a follower of Christ or based on what the world says?

When you look at how you made decisions a few years ago and what you base your decisions on today, are they the same? Do you respond to frustrations and difficult situations today the same way you did years ago?

I have been visiting family for the past week and some of the people I have seen I haven’t seen in more than a year. We spent a lot of time talking about memories of  things that had happened when we were kids and even memories of our children. I was struck by how differently I view the world today than I did years ago.

I have been a follower of Christ for almost 15 years and there is a huge difference in how I view the world today than 15 years ago. What I was challenged with is was there a difference between how I live my life today versus even a year ago. Am I continuing to become more like Christ or is that an area of my life that hasn’t really seemed to change much?

There are definitely areas where I can see a significant change. For example, the same challenges exist when spending time with family, but my way of dealing with them has changed. There were times when I felt myself falling back into old patterns, but I am thankful for the transformation Christ has made in my life. Are you the same today or are you different? Are you continuing to transform your heart and mind to that of Christ? What areas of your life look more like your old life than that of your new life in Christ?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “The Same, but Different

  1. born again, fine post, it reads like my life, thanks for the words of hope, blessings

  2. Wow, awesome thoughts and observations. When I look back on my life, I see how The Lord was always with me. The Holy Spirit has been gently peeling away many layers of hurt and confusion from my heart and now I see His Truth more clearly in myself and others.

    I am not the same person I was in those days because I was blinded. I believed and had faith, but something held me back to give my ALL to Him. The changes in my heart and faith are unfathomable to me. He fills my heart to overflowing, and I can’t help but share Him! Exact opposite of the veiled darkness I experienced earlier in life.

    Praise God!!! Thank you for sharing such a thought provoking, inspirational post.

    Love and blessings,
    Bernadette

    • Bernadette, thanks so much for sharing your story. I can completely relate to how much my life has changed – to God be all the glory! Hope you have a blessed day!

  3. Thank you for this post. Change is a scary thing for many, and for others, they can’t change fast enough. yet God designed us to be constantly changing- our bodies and our souls. I am grateful HE is at work in me. Lord may I accept the growing pains of being changed into Your likeness more and more each day!

    • Jule, I love your prayer “Lors may I accept the growing pains of being changed into Your likeness more and more each day.” Blessings to you!

  4. Shelly, thank you for this simple test to see just how my life has changed . . . sometimes I look for the big transformation . . . but it is the suttle ones that take place over time that seem to surface more often. Looking back I can see it was through the power of the Holy Spirit and not mine that my actions, attitudes, and thoughts have changed, and there’s so much more for Him to do! 🙂 ~ Blessings ~

    • Deborah Ann, sometimes the changes are small or at least seem small but they can make a huge difference. A slight shift in attitude can completely change our perspective. I am do thankful for the transforming work the Lord is doing in my life as well. Be blessed!

      • Bwcary, transformation is part of all of our lives as followers if Christ if we are yielding to the Holy Spirit. I am so thankful for the work The Lord is doing in my life and it sounds like you are too. Be blessed!

  5. Beautiful post and reminder. When we slip up these are great verses to remember. And God makes everything new. Blessings

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

