Don’t Forget

ID-100246852

A friend posted this Scripture on her Facbeook page yesterday and it has stuck with me ever since.

Jeremiah 2:32

Can a virgin forget her ornaments,
    or a bride her attire?
Yet my people have forgotten me
    days without number.

The Lord was telling the people how easily they forgot Him. He used the example of a women forgetting her jewelry or a bride forgetting her wedding dress to show how absurd it is that His people would forget him.

I wear my wedding ring and a watch everyday. If I leave the house without one of them on, I am constantly aware that I am missing them. Today I think people would miss their cell phones. If you left the house without your cell phone, would you constantly be aware that it was missing?

What about spending time with the Lord? If you don’t have quiet time with the Lord in the morning, do you miss it? Are you constantly reminded that you missed that time with Him? How easily we can put the Lord on the back burner or in the back of our minds rather than in the forefront.

Our relationship with the Lord should be so intimate that we miss spending time with Him. Rather than something to check off of our to do list, it should be essential. Spending time with the Lord in prayer and in His Word should be something we feel lost without. Which would be easier for you to go without for a day or a week – your cell phone or time with the Lord?

If we want to live the lives He created us to live, we need to spend time with Him. He has plans for us, but if we don’t spend time with HIm, we won’t know what those plans are.

Jeremiah 29:11

11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare[a] and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

We need to be connected to the Lord, because without Him, we can’t do anything.

John 15:5

 I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

Spend some time today reflecting on how connected to the vine you are. Is your connection to Christ as important as your connection to your cell phone? Perhaps we all need to put down our cell phones, ipads, computers, etc. and spend some time in prayer and in His Word today. Who knows, you might just miss Him and feel lost without Him more than you would your electronic devices.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Don’t Forget

  1. I LOVE Jeremiah 29:11.

  2. I’ve been wrestling with this very thing for a while. In fact, just last night I was talking to my husband about it, expressing how hard it is to find time to read the Bible or spend a few minutes in prayer, truly fixing my eyes on Christ. I was whining (a lot). My husband said, “How badly do you want it? Are you willing to take a drastic step, like getting up an hour earlier?” The sad thing is that deep down in my humanness, I don’t want to get up an hour earlier.

    I did get up early this morning to pray and read my Bible. I’m glad I did. And I’m glad I read your blog post too. Jeremiah 2:32 is convicting me to make this change real and lasting, to not forget God … because it is true that I never forget to put on my wedding rings or make-up before I leave the house. And I keep my cell phone in my purse so that it is always with me. How much more should God mean to me, especially if He is my everything?

    • Paige, thanks for your honesty. It is always easier to sleep in. I had a friend once tell me that God never hits the snooze button on her so she sets her alarm a little early each day to have her quiet time. Your husband is right – if it is important enough to us, we will do it. Blessings!

  3. Wilma

    I’m not normal or okay if I don’t have my time with Him. I need Him more than anything and nothing is right without, first, Him.

  4. Great reminder! I needed this one.

  5. Thank you for your post Shelly, this is something that had been continuously on my mind over the past couple of weeks as anxiety, fear, and worry started trying to take over my circumstances. I had to stop and analyze. It was then that I realized I was not spending the same quality and quantity time with God as I had been previously.
    Not sure if this is cheating, but I returned to reading daily devotionals on my morning transit rides as this helps me to spend quiet time in his word and with him; despite being in public. This also helps to decrease my anxiety and worry.
    oh boy, sorry for the long comment 😦

    • God, Faith and Fitness, that is not cheating at all! That is a creative way to spend time with the Lord. It is easy for us to fall back into old patterns and when we do, we notice we feel different, think different and act differently – less like Christ. The enemy wants nothing more than for us to feel anxiety, fear and doubt. Time with the Lord helps put our focus back on the Lord! What a blessing you found a way to spend more time with Him.

  6. Thank you so so much for sharing that Jeremiah 2:32 verse and encouraging to spend time with Him each day, just because we want to, not because we feel we have to. One good thing is that it soon becomes addictive ! God bless you!

    • Debbie, spending time with Him does become a joy and something we don’t want to miss. Our schedules can become hectic but our priority to spend time with the Lord needs to remain steadfast. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

